Skip to content

Falling in Love with the Earth

November 8, 2015

falling in love with the earth

It’s the third ceremony, mid-way through my last ten-day dieta. My Shipibo maestro is at least half-way through the long opening icaro he sings to protect the space. My mareación is at its least manageable stage. I’ve spent most of the time lying down trying to concentrate on the words of the icaro and practice synaesthesia, that is trying to convert the sounds of the icaros into visual images.

I look over to where my Maestro is sitting and can just make him out in the moonlit darkness. My good friend is sitting next to him. She is sitting very upright in a classic lotus position, very focused. As I look at her, I can make out the colors of the line of chakras in her body.

I think to myself that I must sit up. I struggle to sit up, stay seated for a short while, and then revert to lying down. I hear my friend telling me without words: “Its OK. I will be the masculine for a while. You can surrender and lie down.”

Instead of struggling to stay attentive to the sounds, I let myself sink into the mat I am lying on. Deeper and deeper. Then I feel that I am being held, not physically but psychically and I realize it is the earth who is cradling me. Not just me, but she is holding all of us all the time. And it is so extraordinary that we do not usually feel and/or ignore this.

Actually, its ugly, stupid and cruel as well as extraordinary. We willfully deny, strongly supported by our culture’s patriarchal worldview, that we owe our lives to this mother, that every breath we take is because of her. And its worse. Not only do we deny her, we reject her and like to act as if we are independent of her –  “Strutting around like some lord of misrule”, as the brilliant Scottish folk-singer Alasdair Roberts puts it in his song ‘I am a Young Man’.

And its even worse. Not only do we want to have this arrogant, deeply mistaken sense of independence from her, additionally we are poisoning her air, lands, and waters.

Similar points were beautifully expressed in a very good documentary called ‘Goddess Remembered’, which I  recently watched recently on the internet, about the old Goddess religions and their current revival. The documentary shows how the old hunter-gatherer societies in which the goddess was universally worshiped for 35,000 years (which puts 2,000 years of Christianity into context!) changed into more settled agricultural societies about 10,000 years ago with the beginning of the Neolithic revolution. At this time, the overall organizing metaphor changed from nourisher to conqueror.

mosquito 5Fortunately, like all good mothers, the earth is forgiving. But her patience is running out. And her storm-troopers, her most loyal guards, are still on call, awaiting her orders to wage jihad against humans.

9 Comments
  1. Daniel Parent permalink

    Thanks Paul! The Chalice and the Blade (Riane Eisler) speaks much on this topic…

  2. CosmicDrBii permalink

    Thanks for your comment Daniel. I found a very good summary and review of Eisler’s book, which I had heard of but don’t know, here: http://www.christinehoffkraemer.com/eisler.html

    From this review:

    “Eisler uses the symbols of chalice and blade to stand for two competing sets of values and models of society. The chalice stands for a style of social structure that Eisler calls the partnership model, in which relations between the sexes are understood primarily in terms of partnership rather than hierarchy. The resulting society is egalitarian, peaceful, and matrifocal, centered on the nurturing values traditionally associated with mothers.

    Using a variety of archaeological studies, Eisler claims that such societies existed in Neolithic Europe from the beginning of the agricultural revolution until around 5000-3000 BCE, when warlike invaders from the fringes of these regions conquered them. These invaders’ social model, which Eisler calls the dominator model, is warlike, hierarchical, and organized around patterns of domination. Sex, race, class, and other characteristics are used to rank individuals in a social pecking order, which is then kept in place with the threat of violence. This model is generally associated with a male god and with the glorification of the ability to take life, in contrast to the partnership model’s sacralization of women’s ability to give life through birth.”

  3. Constance rogers permalink

    Paul, I for one found this short version to be…less…and the concluding paragraph a bit abrupt! Appreciate your descript of the earth cradle and the masc/feminine theme therein. Maybe your 5 course posts will return to feed the “army,” or rather-the hungry.

    • C rogers permalink

      Paul. Now i realize that the “abrupt” ending was but a doorway…Thank you.

  4. CosmicDrBii permalink

    Yes I can see it was not obvious that the last sentence was a link…but maybe hidden doorway are good 🙂

  5. Although there have been a lot of benefts that come through the long-term, cultural shifting of consciousness from a passive, feminine style to a more active masculine style, perhaps what could happen is a marriage, a syzygy, a complementarity between the two styles.

    Even the notion that we must change soon, or else, has a masculine tone to it, yes? Perhaps the Christian undertone in western culture brings along with it, the jihadist notion that literalizes an immanent end times as the way to change.

    Maybe the literal and poetic need a marriage? Yes, we all need to make better choices, but as well, we need to dispel the style of consciousness that says, only actions (choices) matter.

    Love the post Paul! You always inspire me to think, and more often inspire me to write.
    Peace and love!
    Debra

  6. CosmicDrBii permalink

    Many thanks for your thoughtful comment Debra. Yes, you are right that this constant exhortation to change has a masculine and often individualist tone to it especially when it is willed/imposed change.

    I’m exploring with my work with Alianza Arkana, the non-profit I work with in the Peruvian Amazon, how to try to let change unfold. This requires qualities like attentiveness, receptivity and dedication rather than, or maybe better said as well as, force, assertion and will.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Falling in Love with the Earth | The Tree of Life Foundation Blog
  2. Falling in Love with the Earth — Conversations with Don Machinga and Other Beings – âme du colibri

Leave a Reply

